Skip to main navigation.

SWRE 2018 Youth Tour Winners Named


Texoma students who participated as finalists in SWRE’s 2018 Youth Tour Contest are: (back, l to r) Destiny Barnard, Frederick HS; Timothy Jacobson, Oklahoma winner, Snyder HS; Lincoln Muller, Navajo HS; Jamie Jannaman, Oklahoma runner-up, Frederick HS, Deanna Duensing, Texas winner, Electra HS.

Other finalists are (front, l to r) Ragan Fieldhouse, Vernon HS: Kaitlyn Thomas, Northside HS; Ronna Dennis, Texas runner-up, Vernon HS.




Deanna Duensing of Electra High School and Timothy Jacobson of Snyder High School have been named winners of Southwest Rural Electric Association’s 2018 Youth Tour Contest.

As Youth Tour winners, Deanna and Timothy will receive all-expense-paid trips to Washington, D.C. this summer with delegations of other co-op students from their respective states.

Deanna is the daughter of Jason and Tracie Duensing of Electra.

Timothy is the son of Robert and Kari Jacobson.

During their trip to Washington, D.C., the two Texoma youth will visit the U.S. Capitol, Mount Vernon, the capital city’s many memorials and museums, and Arlington National Cemetery. They will also have the opportunity to visit with numerous elected officials.

Runners-up in the contest are Jamie Jannaman, Frederick High School, and Ronna Dennis, Vernon High School. Jamie is the daughter of Carol and Michael Jannaman, Frederick. Ronna is the daughter of Ronny and Lynn Dennis, Vernon.

As runners-up, Jamie and Ronna will have the opportunity to represent SWRE at the 2019 high school Touchstone Leadership Summit to be held next January in Oklahoma City.

Other 2018 contest finalists were Destiny Barnard, Frederick High School, daughter of Sherri Barnard; Lincoln Muller, Navajo High School, son of Matt and Kellie Muller; Kaitlyn Thomas, Northside High School, daughter of Denise Thomas; Ragan Fieldhouse, Vernon High School, daughter of Mary and Stephen Fieldhouse.

All finalists received certificates and $250 cash prizes.

The SWRE Youth Tour Contest is open each year to all 11th grade students who live or attend school in the SWRE service area.

Students were required to research and write a 500-750-word essay on the statementThe National Rural Electric Cooperatives Association has brought electricity to over 120 million people in 43 developing countries through its international program.”

Nine contest finalists were chosen based on their essays. Eight finalists presented their essays as extemporaneous speeches at a dinner held Thursday evening, February 15, at SWRE headquarters in Tipton. A panel of judges determined contest winners based on the presentations.

The annual SWRE Youth Tour Essay Contest for high school juniors is an annual tradition that began in 1964.

Contest essays were received this year from students in thirteen Texoma schools.

Southwest Rural Electric Cooperative is a non-profit member-owned electric utility that serves a 6,000 square mile area in 11 counties of North Texas and Southwest Oklahoma. It was organized in 1937, and maintains its headquarters in Tipton, Oklahoma.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo